Call out to Local Businesses to support BBC Radio Lancashire’s Community Heroes Award Ceremony

Local companies in Blackburn, Darwen and Lancashire are being encouraged to support the BBC Radio Lancashire Community Heroes Awards.

The awards are to recognise unsung heroes from across the county, in nine categories, covering everything from good neighbours to voluntary work, will this year be hosted in Blackburn.

Radio Lancashire breakfast presenter Graham Liver, who will host the show, said: “I’m really looking forward to the inspiring stories of those nominated. It is great for them to get the recognition they deserve and we’re excited to be taking the awards ceremony to Blackburn.”

The Awards take place on Saturday 14th September at 7pm.

To book tickets for the event (including a 3 course dinner) visit King George’s Hall here

The full list of finalists is as follows:

The Volunteer of the Year Award:

1. Harley Hyatt (Blackburn)

2. Janet Pearce (Darwen)

3. Jeanie King (Blackpool)

4. Lorraine Hargreaves (Blackburn)

The Blue Light Award:

1. Cameron Smith (Accrington)

2. HM Coastguard – Area 15 (Lancashire-wide)

3. SafeDrive StayAlive Lancashire (Lancashire-wide)

4. PC Ian Ashton (Lancashire-wide)

The Carer Award:

1. Brenda Matthews (Heysham)

2. Joan McCormack (Blackpool)

3. Joseph Fryer (Blackpool)

4. Shaun Windle (Burnley)

The Good Neighbour Award:

1. Denis Ashcroft (Chorley)

2. Gordon Mellody (Blackburn)

3. Jahangir Anwar (Burnley)

4. Lee Gott (Caton near Lancaster)

The Education Award:

1. Dave McPartlin (Fleetwood)

2. Donald Strachan (Colne)

3. Martin Grayston (Preston)

4. Memoona Ansar (Blackburn)

The Ben Ashworth Award for Fundraising:

1. Carole Davis (Blackburn)

2. Tom and Jack Mayoh (Blackburn)

3. Lewis Alexander Baxter (Clitheroe)

4. Ethel Davies (Pilling)

The Community Project of the Year Award:

1. Community Spirit (Blackburn)

2. The Willow Garden Project (Fleetwood)

3. Stanleys Community Centre (Morecambe)

4. LOVEmyBEACH (St Annes)

The Companionship Award:

1. CAMEO Luncheon Club (St Annes)

2. Find a Friend Christmas Dinner (Leyland)

3. Joan Musker (Leyland)

4. Majid Mahmood (Burnley)

The Pride of Lancashire Award:

1. Gail Forrest (Chorley)

2. Unique Kidz and Co (Morecambe)

3. Peter Taylor (Lea)

4. Ken and Marie West (Bolton-le-Sands)

Blackburn Life has been running as a voluntary venture to support the borough and its community. We are always happy to discuss advertising and promotional packages for businesses to help cover our costs of running Blackburn Life.

Blackburn Life will never charge you fees, levies or memberships to add your events, news, jobs and business listings.


Share this post:

Extra Reading for You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Adverts help to keep this site free to access